Aspie Healing with Nutritional Genomics

Discuss autism diets and biomedical treatments of autism.

Moderator: ModeratorBill

crzxn

Aspie Healing with Nutritional Genomics

Postby crzxn » Sun Jul 12, 2015 1:20 pm

Hi, just want to to introduce myself and ask a few questions.

I have aspergers and also many issues that people on the spectrum supper from; anxiety, OCD, depresison, gastrointestinal issues, skin issues, amoung other things. Since I was high functioning they only ever treated my anxiety and OCD, which were bad enough to have me hospitalized twice for and land me on disability. For years I had moderate success using supplements and diet which reduced many of those issues with help from antidepressants, anti-anxiety, and other psyco-pharm drugs.

For 10 years I studied food, biological psychology, and genetics trying to find some cluse to what was going on. My whole family has these issues so I knew, for me at least, it was highly genetically prevalant. I lived near a medical research college so I lived in the library.

At this point I want to say that this is all theory from me and I have held back, trying to be as certain as I can about this, before talking about it more. I also am not selling anything and have no interest in any comnpany nor making any money.

So, last year while I poking around this stuff again I ran into people getting their genetic profile through 23andme.com. I got my profile and it kicked off my investigation into Nutritional Genomics. When I saw my genetics everything seemed to click together; why some supplements worked and some did not, why some "healthy foods" made me feel worse. I saw my anxiety in my bad monoamine oxidase and COMT genes. I then started reading the research Dr. Steven Zeisel was doing in the Nutritional Genetics and I saw something interesting, the role that cofactors have on gene expression.